Committees and Coalitions

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee administers the awards program for the CGFOA. The awards program recognizes individuals and their significant contributions, which further the goals and ideals of CGFOA. The program also provides a mechanism to communicate insights as to how some cutting-edge ideas are being implemented. Committee members solicit nominations, review submissions and make the final decisions on the awards. Award nomination forms are located on the Applications page of the website.

To join this committee, please contact the Chair.

The Finance Professional of the Year Award is made to a finance officer, who, through his/her actions, has made outstanding contributions, which further the goals of CGFOA.

The Significant Contribution Award recognizes original or innovative programs and projects that represent a significant contribution to the field of governmental finance. Categories include:

  1. Budgeting and Financial Planning
  2. Capital Financing and Debt
  3. Administration
  4. Accounting, Auditing, and Financial Reporting
  5. Cash Management and Investments
  6. Pensions and Benefits
  7. Financial Management
  8. Technology

CTAC (Colorado Tax Audit Coalition)

CTAC 

Listserv will eventually be eliminated and being part of the the CTAC subgroup will allwo you to post in the CTAC forum.   The CTAC forum will relpace listserv.

 

Dave Standifer

Co-Chair

City of Thornton

dave.standifer@ThorntonCO.gov

Sophia Hassman

Co-Chair

City and County of Denver

Sophia.hassman@denvergov.org

Careers and Outreach Committee

The Careers and Outreach Committee promotes careers in public finance through programs that are brought to college classes, clubs, and groups.  An outreach kit includes a power point presentation, brochures, scholarship applications and everything needed for a presentation that promotes a career in public sector finance.  Members are encouraged to liaison with the Colorado college they graduated from and use the outreach kit to make presentations to students and attend career fairs. 

CGFOA also supports a $1,000 Careers and Outreach Scholarship which is awarded to a junior in college who is preparing for a career in state or local government finance.  Careers and Outreach committee members solicit applications, review submissions, and make the final award decision.

If you are interested in being a liaison for your college and promoting careers in government finance, please contact 2020 Chair

Lore Nusser

Chair

City of Westminster

LNusser@CityofWestminster.US

Education Committee

The Annual Education Planning meeting is held every January.  At that time the Conference and Annual Education program is planned for the year.  Missed the meeting, but still want to be involved?  Contact one of the Co-Chairs

Stacey Alderson

Education Committee (Members)

Chandler Asset Management

salderson@chandlerasset.com

Glenda Aragon

Education Committee (Members)

West Metro Fire Rescue

garagon@westmetrofire.org

Catrina Asher

Education Committee (Members)

City of Lafayette

catrina.asher@lafayetteco.gov

Jackie Balyeat

Education Committee (Members)

Town of Silverthorne

jbalyeat@silverthorne.org

Alana Bethune

Education Committee (Members)

City of Lafayette

alana.bethune@cityoflafayette.com

Jeff Cadiz

Education Committee (Members)

City of Centennial

jcadiz@centennialco.gov

Parker Crowe

Education Committee (Members)

State of CO - DOLA

parker.crowe@state.co.us

Marty Ferris CPFO

Education Committee (Members)

Summit County Government

martina.ferris@summitcountyco.gov

THERESA FOX

Education Committee (Members)

ADAMS COUNTY GOVERNMENT

TFOX695@GMAIL.COM

Susan Gantt

Education Committee (Members)

Adams County

sgantt@adcogov.org

Jo Ann Giddings

Education Committee (Members)

City of Aurora, Water Department

jgidding@auroragov.org

Rob Guinn

Education Committee (Members)

City of Boulder

guinnr@bouldercolorado.gov

Russell Haddock

Education Committee (Members)

MCCi

rhaddock@mccinnovations.com

Diane Holbert CTP

Education Committee (Members)

Pacific Western Bank

dholbert@pacwest.com

Julie Hughes

Education Committee (Members)

Chandler Asset Management

jhughes@chandlerasset.com

Jill Johnson CPFO, CPA

Education Committee (Members)

Lyons, Town of

JJOHNSON@TOWNOFLYONS.COM

John Lewis

Education Committee (Members)

City of Fountain

jlewis@fountaincolorado.org

Marlin McDaniel

Education Committee (Members)

Jefferson County

mmcdanie@jeffco.us

James Merchant

Education Committee (Members)

City of Westminster

jmerchan@cityofwestminster.us

Jason Mumm

Education Committee (Members)

FCS GROUP

jasonm@fcsgroup.com

Debbie Murray C.P.A.

Education Committee (Members)

Mesa County Sheriff's Office

debbie.murray@mesacounty.us

Tammy Nordyke MPA

Education Committee (Members)

City of Canon City

tjnordyke@canoncity.org

Stephanie Novello

Education Committee (Members)

City of Golden

snovello@cityofgolden.net

Lore Nusser

Education Committee (Members)

City of Westminster

LNusser@CityofWestminster.US

Cheryl Pattelli CPA

Education Committee (Members)

City of Boulder

pattellic@bouldercolorado.gov

Anne Penney

Education Committee (Members)

City of Boulder

penneya@bouldercolorado.gov

Dezire Sanchez

Education Committee (Members)

Town of Timnath

dsanchez@timnathgov.com

Chad Smith

Education Committee (Members)

City of Westminster

csmith@cityofwestminster.us

Dave Standifer

Education Committee (Members)

City of Thornton

dave.standifer@ThorntonCO.gov

Michael Varnet CPA, CPFO

Education Committee (Members)

Pikes Peak Library District

mvarnet@ppld.org

Sherrie Vogt

Education Committee (Members)

U.S. Bank

sherrie.vogt@usbank.com

Kirk Weber

Education Committee (Members)

kweber7238@gmail.com

Sherri Young

Education Committee (Members)

City of Westminster

syoung@cityofwestminster.us

Catrina Asher

Co-Chair

City of Lafayette

catrina.asher@lafayetteco.gov

Cheryl Pattelli CPA

Co-Chair

City of Boulder

pattellic@bouldercolorado.gov

Education Committee (Members)

Educations Grants Committee

Glenda Aragon

Chair

West Metro Fire Rescue

garagon@westmetrofire.org

Library Committee

CGFOA maintains a Library for the benefit of members.  A listing of available books is located on the Library Books page of the Opportunities and Resources section of the website.   

If you would like to help the 2020 Library Chair or have recommendations for materials that should be added to the library, please contact Library Committee Chair.

Marty Ferris CPFO

Chair

Summit County Government

martina.ferris@summitcountyco.gov

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee promotes membership in the organization. If you are interested in helping to promote membership in CGFOA please contact the 2020 Membership Chair.

Della Brown

Chair

Mineral County

mineralcty.assist@live.com

Scholarships Committee

Technical Issues Task Force

Kirk Weber

Chair

kweber7238@gmail.com

Western Slope Coalition

Each Summer CGFOA sponsors a day long training on the Western Slope. To help with the development of this program of to host an Annual Western Slope Summer Workshop please contact the Western Slope Coalition Committee Chair.

Catrina Asher

Chair

City of Lafayette

catrina.asher@lafayetteco.gov